Angebote zu "Texas" (38 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

Leo M.J. Dielmann
29,00 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Please note that the content of this book primarily consists of articles available from Wikipedia or other free sources online. Leo Maria Joseph Dielmann (August 14, 1881 - December 21, 1969) was a prominent architect in Texas. He designed several churches and other buildings that are listed on the U.S. National Register of Historic Places. He was born in San Antonio, Texas and studied in Texas and in Germany. He served as first president of Katholischer Staats-verband von Texas (the Catholic State League of Texas). Works include: The Fairmount Hotel, 401 S. Alamo San Antonio, TX, NRHP-listed, LaBorde House, Store and Hotel, 601 E. Main St. Rio Grande City, TX, NRHP-listed, Monastery of Our Lady of Charity, 1900 Montana San Antonio, TX, Italianate and Gothic architecture, NRHP-listed Nativity of Mary, Blessed Virgin Catholic Church, FM 2672 High Hill, TX, built 1906, NRHP-listed, Our Lady of Lourdes Church, 105 N. William Victoria, TX, Romanesque architecture, NRHP-listed.

Anbieter: Dodax
Stand: 28.01.2020
Zum Angebot
Smonk
14,80 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Old Texas, Alabama, 1911. Fernab und inmitten abgebrannter Maisfelder gelegen, leidet die kleine Gemeinde nicht nur unter den Folgen des Bürgerkrieges. E.O. Smonk, ein schießwütiger, einäugiger Farmer, tyrannisiert das Städtchen, insbesondere Dutzende Witwen und junger Mädchen, an denen er sich vergeht. Als ihm der Prozess gemacht werden soll, kann Smonk dem Lynchmob entkommen. Doch es scheint eine Verbindung zu geben zwischen Smonk, dem geheimnisvollen religiösen Witwen-Kult und der Truppe um einen christlichen Hilfssheriff, der eine mordende minderjährige Hure entlang der Golfküste verfolgt.Auf den Spuren von Faulkner und McCarthy kombiniert US-Autor Tom Franklin Elemente des Southern Gothic und des Western noir und legt in seiner Groteske die Wurzeln der angezählten amerikanischen Nation bloß, die nicht selten Freiheit mit dem Recht des Stärkeren assoziert.

Anbieter: Dodax
Stand: 28.01.2020
Zum Angebot
Smonk
15,30 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Old Texas, Alabama, 1911. Fernab und inmitten abgebrannter Maisfelder gelegen, leidet die kleine Gemeinde nicht nur unter den Folgen des Bürgerkrieges. E.O. Smonk, ein schießwütiger, einäugiger Farmer, tyrannisiert das Städtchen, insbesondere Dutzende Witwen und junger Mädchen, an denen er sich vergeht. Als ihm der Prozess gemacht werden soll, kann Smonk dem Lynchmob entkommen. Doch es scheint eine Verbindung zu geben zwischen Smonk, dem geheimnisvollen religiösen Witwen-Kult und der Truppe um einen christlichen Hilfssheriff, der eine mordende minderjährige Hure entlang der Golfküste verfolgt.Auf den Spuren von Faulkner und McCarthy kombiniert US-Autor Tom Franklin Elemente des Southern Gothic und des Western noir und legt in seiner Groteske die Wurzeln der angezählten amerikanischen Nation bloß, die nicht selten Freiheit mit dem Recht des Stärkeren assoziert.

Anbieter: Dodax AT
Stand: 28.01.2020
Zum Angebot
Galveston, English edition
12,50 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

'Recalls only the finest examples of the form' Dennis Lehane'The elegance Pizzolatto brings to his heart-wrenching story makes it unforgettable' Daily MailFrom the creator of the hit HBO series True Detective comes a powerful, gleaming-dark thriller rich with Southern atmosphere.Roy Cady is by his own admission 'a bad man'. With a snow flurry of cancer in his lungs and no one to live for, he's a walking time-bomb of violence. Following a fling with his boss's lover, he's sent on a routine assignment he knows is a death trap. Yet after a smoking spasm of violence, Roy's would-be killers are mostly dead and he is mostly alive.Before Roy makes his getaway, he finds a beaten-up woman in the apartment, and sees something in her frightened, defiant eyes that causes a crucial decision. He takes her with him on the run from New Orleans to Galveston, Texas, permanently entwining their fate along a highway of seedy bars and fleabag hotels, a world of treacherous drifters, pick-up trucks, and ashed-out hopes, with death just a car-length behind.Nic Pizzolatto's highly acclaimed, Edgar Award-nominated thriller announces the arrival of a major new talent for fans of Dennis Lehane, James Lee Burke and Breaking Bad.'A good old Southern gothic treat of a road trip through Texas and Louisiana. Think James Lee Burke meets Midnight In The Garden of Good And Evil with shades of Paris, Texas'Sam Baker, The Pool'Terrific dialogue'Kirkus'Pizzolatto's insightful portrayal is rough and tumble real. He vividly captures Galveston in all its desperate vulnerability'Publishers Weekly'A truly original and gifted writer'Litro

Anbieter: Dodax
Stand: 28.01.2020
Zum Angebot
Galveston, English edition
10,80 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

'Recalls only the finest examples of the form' Dennis Lehane'The elegance Pizzolatto brings to his heart-wrenching story makes it unforgettable' Daily MailFrom the creator of the hit HBO series True Detective comes a powerful, gleaming-dark thriller rich with Southern atmosphere.Roy Cady is by his own admission 'a bad man'. With a snow flurry of cancer in his lungs and no one to live for, he's a walking time-bomb of violence. Following a fling with his boss's lover, he's sent on a routine assignment he knows is a death trap. Yet after a smoking spasm of violence, Roy's would-be killers are mostly dead and he is mostly alive.Before Roy makes his getaway, he finds a beaten-up woman in the apartment, and sees something in her frightened, defiant eyes that causes a crucial decision. He takes her with him on the run from New Orleans to Galveston, Texas, permanently entwining their fate along a highway of seedy bars and fleabag hotels, a world of treacherous drifters, pick-up trucks, and ashed-out hopes, with death just a car-length behind.Nic Pizzolatto's highly acclaimed, Edgar Award-nominated thriller announces the arrival of a major new talent for fans of Dennis Lehane, James Lee Burke and Breaking Bad.'A good old Southern gothic treat of a road trip through Texas and Louisiana. Think James Lee Burke meets Midnight In The Garden of Good And Evil with shades of Paris, Texas'Sam Baker, The Pool'Terrific dialogue'Kirkus'Pizzolatto's insightful portrayal is rough and tumble real. He vividly captures Galveston in all its desperate vulnerability'Publishers Weekly'A truly original and gifted writer'Litro

Anbieter: Dodax AT
Stand: 28.01.2020
Zum Angebot
Texas Gothic
6,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Texas Gothic ab 6.49 € als epub eBook: . Aus dem Bereich: eBooks, Kinder & Jugendbuch,

Anbieter: hugendubel
Stand: 28.01.2020
Zum Angebot
Prairie Gothic: The Story of a West Texas Famil...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Prairie Gothic is full of Texas lore. Erickson tells the story of people in the context of a specific place. This place, instrumental in shaping their lives, is the flatland prairie of northwestern Texas that has gone by various names (High Plains, South Plains, Staked Plains, and Llano Estacado), as well as the rugged country on its eastern boundary, often referred to as the "caprock canyonlands." One branch of Erickson's family arrived in Texas in 1858, settling in Parker County, west of Weatherford. Another branch, sturdy Quaker farmers from Ohio, helped establish the first Anglo settlement on the Llano Estacado in 1881, near present-day Lubbock. Erickson's family interacts with significant historical figures, such as Cynthia Ann Parker, and includes members of the Estacado Quaker colony. There is the story of Martha Sherman, who died at the hands of the Comanche, and the tale of the notorious outlaw Tom Ross. Prairie Gothic also includes Erickson's encounters with famous Texas writers, such as John Graves and J. Evetts Haley. Burrowing deep into his West Texas roots, Erickson discovered people of substance and strong character, made that way in part by the challenges they faced in a harsh environment. He has created a fascinating blend of family and regional history. Excerpts from journals, letters, and other original sources enrich the narrative. The book is published by University of North Texas Press. 1. Language: English. Narrator: George Utley. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/083863/bk_acx0_083863_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 28.01.2020
Zum Angebot
Tideland
16,49 € *
zzgl. 1,49 € Versand

For his tenth feature, Terry Gilliam (Time Bandits, Twelve Monkeys) adapted Mitch Cullin’s celebrated cult novel Tideland, a work he once described as “Alice in Wonderland meets Psycho through the eyes of Amélie.” To escape her unhappy life in a remote part of Texas, nine-year-old Jeliza-Rose dreams up an elaborate fantasy world. But the reality of having junkie parents – played by Jeff Bridges (The Big Lebowski) and Jennifer Tilly (Bound) – and the influence of her eccentric neighbours begins to encroach, turning her daydreams ever darker. A rich slice of Southern Gothic blurring whimsical fantasy with unsettling reality, Tideland is among Gilliam’s most personal works – indeed, with its shifts between the amusing and the macabre, expressive camerawork and striking special effects, the film could be the very definition of Gilliamesque! Features: High Definition Blu-ray (1080p) presentation DTS-HD MA 5.1 audio Optional English subtitles for the deaf and hard of hearing Commentary by writer-director Terry Gilliam and co-writer Tony Grisoni Introduction by director Terry Gilliam Getting Gilliam, a 45-minute documentary on the making of Tideland by Vincenzo Natali (Cube, Splice) The Making of Tideland featurette Filming Green Screen featurette with commentary by Gilliam Interviews with Terry Gilliam, producer Jeremy Thomas and actors Jeff Bridges, Jodelle Ferland and Jennifer Tilly Deleted scenes with commentary by Gilliam B-roll footage Gallery Theatrical trailer Reversible sleeve featuring two choices of original artwork FIRST PRESSING ONLY: Illustrated collector’s booklet featuring new writing on the film by Neil Mitchell

Anbieter: Zavvi
Stand: 28.01.2020
Zum Angebot
Smonk / Pulp Master Bd.42
15,30 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Old Texas, Alabama, 1911. Fernab und inmitten abgebrannter Maisfelder gelegen, leidet die kleine Gemeinde nicht nur unter den Folgen des Bürgerkrieges. E.O. Smonk, ein schießwütiger, einäugiger Farmer, tyrannisiert das Städtchen, insbesondere Dutzende Witwen und junger Mädchen, an denen er sich vergeht. Als ihm der Prozess gemacht werden soll, kann Smonk dem Lynchmob entkommen. Doch es scheint eine Verbindung zu geben zwischen Smonk, dem geheimnisvollen religiösen Witwen-Kult und der Truppe um einen christlichen Hilfssheriff, der eine mordende minderjährige Hure entlang der Golfküste verfolgt.Auf den Spuren von Faulkner und McCarthy kombiniert US-Autor Tom Franklin Elemente des Southern Gothic und des Western noir und legt in seiner Groteske die Wurzeln der angezählten amerikanischen Nation bloß, die nicht selten Freiheit mit dem Recht des Stärkeren assoziert.

Anbieter: buecher
Stand: 28.01.2020
Zum Angebot